Surge protector questions. Locations? Hard wired vs Pedestal plug in? Discussion and advice needed.

Go to solution Solved by MIRIAM,

Another Newbie question - since I'm 50amp coach and have a 50amp (progressive industries) surge protector, does it matter that I have the surge protector plugged to an adapter into 30amp.  Should I be using a 30amp surge protector while on 30am?  I've only been on 30amp 2x in a year and never had a problem, so never considered it......

....until today.....I've had the coach for a little over a year and never really had an issue with power until today......the power flickered (later learned it was NOT just in RV, but in the actual host house on the property) and, while everything is 'fine' and working normal, I happened to notice the red light on the progressive industries 50a surge protector is LIGHTLY illuminating, but not very bright like the green and blue are, but it's there.  Could it  be I am a 50amp coach and plugged in to 30amp?  I wouldn't think so and just seems 'new'  we have been here 5 weeks with zero problems until today.  I've tried troubleshooting and resetting everything removed the plugs, reset breakers inside and outside, but just can't figure out why it's saying there is "an open negative" on the surge protector.