Upgrade to electric patio awning

Go to solution Solved by 96 EVO,

I have a 2002 diplomat with a kitchen slide on my patio side.  I’m looking to replace my manual awning with an electric awning but need to make sure it will mount and work with the slide that is only a few inches below the upper beltline.  Has anyone installed an electric awning ?

2 hours ago, 96 EVO said:

Carefree Eclipse should go over your slide.

Mine does!

Maybe I am WRONG.  The Eclipse is a SLIDE MOUNTED awning.  It is a scissors mechanism.  It is NOT BOLTED or Attached to the roof.

NOW, on the Camelots…and also the Carefree website, the ROOF MOUNTED, which extends OVER and past the slide is an APEX.  This is the OEM version.  Carefree makes a “retail” unit.  But, it is hard to figure our the name.  It may be FREEDOM.

The APEX is a GIRARD Clone or knock off.  It bolts to the roof.  It extends out with two BIG arms….think your elbow.  As the Apex extend, each side arm opens up….like yiur elbow would if put your fist or hand on your throat (Adam’s Apple) then extended your fist or arm straight out….your elbow straightens.

NOW a Girard or an Apex does NOT go exavtly horizontally….it drops a little.  It will clear the extended slide by may 6 - 8”…. LOOKS LIKE IT WILL HIT….but doesn’t.

NOW…..practically speaking….i rarely use mine.  You can’t secure it or tether it down.  It took two different dealer, finally one that worked on Girards, to get it properly adjusted.  It also is way more prone to UPLIFTS and wind damage.  I camped with two guys that had new 2008 Navigators.  They had side by side Girards, I think….a storm blew up quickly.  Those two awnings looked like they were flapping up and down….they panicked and barely got them in.  I can’t get as much shade from mine as I did with an ancient Winnie gasser that had a manual roll down/up awning with side arms.