Another Newbie here, "new" 2007 Signature Owner

RLM777

Sorry for the dumb question.  We have two battery bays, one empty and the smaller one has two trays.  Which is the House, top or bottom?

We are looking at replacing both House and Chassie batteries with new.  I would like to stay with non-Lithium to avoid the headache of Lithium.  What type would you recommend?

Thanks.

There are no dumb questions! Your house batteries should be in the right rear, or so, bay. Chassis batteries in the back. I’ve got 6 each 6 volt AGM batteries on my Navigator for house batteries. No maintenance, but fairly expensive, $2,200 for the 6. But I’m good for 10 years. So, house are on top & on bottom. I can fit 2 more, but I’m pretty confident in the 6. 

As one poster put it....there are NO DUMB QUESTIONS.

However, most members will also say to start reading the manual from cover to cover.  In your case, read sections 8 & 9.  The Manual is good. It does NOT show a picture of the bays, as some manuals do. BUT...

Here is the print of your HIGH CURRENT System.

MEMORY.  Your Signature came with an OPTION second SET of House Batteries.  ODDS are...the OPEN Tray..is just that

NOW...so you can learn.

There are TWO batteries in the CHASSIS BANK. They are easy to identify. They do NOT have CAPS.  The are in the center of the PRINT.  They will have TWO Jumpers or Cables connecting the POSTS.  They are the SHORE Black (or maybe Red and Black).  They run from the POSITIVE to the POSITIVE on one side.  Same for the Negative. This puts them in PARALLEL.  SO, the TOTAL Voltage from the TWO PARALLEL batteries is 12 VDC.

The HOUSE...Look at the PRINT.  There are FOUR Batteries.  They will have CAPS if they are FLOODED CELLS.  AGM will NOT.  Notice that the JUMPERS go from POSITIVE to the NEGATIVE in each ROW.  That ADDS the Voltage.  So you have TWO Horizontal (on the PRINT) 6 VDC batteries.  The Voltage across that set is 12 VDC.